Serving the Profession

All members of the board of directors of the Architecture Foundation of Georgia (AFGA) have legal, fiduciary responsibilities mandated in Georgia state law. These responsibilities are consistent across any person in Georgia serving on a nonprofit board of directors.

Fiduciary responsibilities

  • Setting the strategic vision for AFGA and working with other board members and staff to set the scope of activities of the organization
  • Providing fiscal and fiduciary oversight of AFGA and ensuring that the organization is utilizing its resources, both staff and financial, in ways consistent with the strategic vision and scope of work
  • Act as a public face of AFGA, attending public events, meetings, etc., as needed by the organization


Tangela Monroe
Assistant Director
(678) 553-0500 ext 108

2021 Board of Directors

Theresa Ridley, AIA
Theresa Ridley, AIA2021 President
Dwell Design Studio
AIA Atlanta
James G. Fausett, FAIA
James G. Fausett, FAIA2021 Vice-President
Professor Emeritus
AIA Atlanta
Ina Bachmann, AIA
Ina Bachmann, AIADirector
AIA Atlanta


Serve on the Architecture Foundation of Georgia Board of Directors. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. With new member voting in November. Learn more about the positions here.

Jay Silverman, AIA
Jay Silverman, AIADirector
Dwell Design Studio
AIA Atlanta
Holly Gotfredson CSI, WiM
Holly Gotfredson CSI, WiMDirector
American Metalworks
Richard Hinman, AIA
Richard Hinman, AIADirector
Studio 3 Design Group
AIA Augusta
Daniel James, AIA
Daniel James, AIADirector
Perkins & Will
AIA Atlanta
Julie Ju-Youn Kim, AIA
Julie Ju-Youn Kim, AIADirector
Georgia Institute of Technology
AIA Atlanta
Kent McClure, AIA
Kent McClure, AIADirector
YWM Architects
AIA Southwest Georgia
Jakiel Sanders, AIA, NOMA
Jakiel Sanders, AIA, NOMADirector
Moody Nolan
AIA Atlanta
Laura Sherman
Laura ShermanDirector
Smith Dalia Architects
Zach Terry, Assoc. AIA
Zach Terry, Assoc. AIADirector
AIA Atlanta
Brock Tobaben, AIA
Brock Tobaben, AIADirector
John A. Tuten & Associates
AIA Golden Isles
Chris Welty, AIA
Chris Welty, AIADirector
Kennesaw State University
AIA Atlanta